Wednesday, May 28, 2014

{Chanpreet #Review} Contemporary Romance: Party Girl by Rachel Hollis

PARTY GIRL by Rachel Hollis
Genre: Contemporary
Format: ebook from publicist
Length: 364 pages
Publisher: Chic Publishing (February 12, 2014)

Landon Brinkley is making her dreams come true. After years of poring over glossy photos of celebrity parties in People and US Weekly, she’s landed her Holy Grail: an internship with the fabulous Selah Smith, event planner to the Hollywood elite. Moving from small town Texas to Los Angeles, Landon finds herself in a world in which spending a million dollars on an event – even for kids’ birthdays – is de rigueur. The thrill of working on A-list parties and celeb weddings is enough to get her through the 75-hour workweeks, the nightmare of a multi-day film festival, and abuse at the hands of a mercurial boss. But confronted with the seamy realities of the business, she is forced to make a choice: do whatever it takes to get ahead, or stay true to herself.

A roman a clef in the vein of The Devil Wears Prada, PARTY GIRL draws on the author’s real life experience for an exclusive behind-the-scenes look at the celebrity-obsessed world of event planning. From the party habits of America’s favorite underage singer to the worst Bridezilla of all (the kind that graces the cover of your favorite magazine), PARTY GIRL reveals the ugly side of Hollywood’s prettiest parties.


Get A Copy: Amazon | B&N | Kobo


REVIEW:

The first time I started this book two months ago, I didn't get past 11%. I didn't feel the connection and I put it down. This time, I started and finished this book in under 2 hours and 30 minutes, including the lunch break I took because other people were giving me funny looks for the noises coming from my stomach. I absolutely loved the book. I didn't even look down to check how far into the book I was and I almost always do that!

Landon Brinkley is absolutely fabulous. As a fellow Southern girl, I not only admire her, but I want her wardrobe! Landon is the perfect mix of sassy, polite, and she's oh so hardworking. I loved seeing her become more confident while remaining true to her self. I also loved Miko, Landon's awesome co-worker, and Max, her room-mate who are also two amazing women and friends I'd love to have. I loved their relationship with each other. They were so close yet able to respect boundaries. I've got to tell you, this book really kept me on my toes. I had no idea what was going to happen next with anything; Selah(Landon's boss/idol), Brody, Taylor, Max, Miko, anything was fair game and I absolutely loved being enthralled by the story. Besides Landon, one of my favorite things in this book had to be the different sayings Landon used from her mother and father. They were fitting and delightful.

I can't even begin to tell you how excited I am that this is the first book in a series according to goodreads and I am beyond eager to see what Rachel Hollis writes next. I loved this book so much I'm going to get a paperback copy for my own shelves. Her writing reminds me of the quintessential chick lit I used devour from the 90s, while still remaining fresh and new. I've been looking for books like this for a long time. In fact, I'm not even sure how to categorize this book. It could easy be a chick lit/women's fiction/contemporary romance/new adult novel. It's just so versatile and fits best in all of the categories and none at the same time. It's just a wonderful story.



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...